Celtic dominate PFA Scotland awards with Moussa Dembele shortlisted for two

Celtic dominate PFA Scotland awards with Moussa Dembele shortlisted for two

Celtic striker Moussa Dembele has been shortlisted for player and young player of the year in the PFA Scotland awards.

The 20-year-old Frenchman is joined in the senior list by team-mates Stuart Armstrong and Scott Sinclair, plus Aberdeen wide man Jonny Hayes.

His opponents for the young player award are team-mates Patrick Roberts and Kieran Tierney, the holder, along with Hibernian striker Jason Cummings.

The winners will be announced on Sunday 7 May at the PFA’s annual dinner.

Celtic players have won the last three top-flight player of the year awards and have only failed to win it twice in the past 13 seasons.

READ  Giggs: Man Utd need 'four or five' additions and should consider Alexis Sanchez

Motherwell striker Michael Higdon topped the list in 2013, Rangers midfielder Steven Davis took the award in 2010, while Rangers defender Fernando Ricksen shared it with Celtic’s John Hartson in 2005.

Players make the shortlist after voting among players in the Scottish Professional Football League.

Striker Leigh Griffiths was their top choice last season, with midfielder Stefan Johansen the year before and Kris Commons in 2014.

If Hayes were to win, he would become the first Dons player to take the award since Scotland midfielder Jim Bett in 1990.

READ  1860 Munich's Allianz Arena contract cancelled by Bayern

The shortlists for the Championship, League One and League Two player of the year awards were announced last week.

Cummings, whose goals have helped Hibs win promotion, was shortlisted for Championship player of the year as well as the overall young player award.

Left-back Tierney could become the first to win the young player award twice since Aberdeen midfielder Eoin Jess in 1993 – and the first to win it two years running since Hearts defender Craig Levein in 1986.

Leave a Reply